2015 Rules Test Discussion

1. On a free kick that goes out of bounds untouched by R, R has three options (6-1-9) – rekick 5 yds from previous spot, R puts ball in play at inbounds spot, or R gets ball 25 yards from previous spot.  Normally a free kick is from the K40, therefore 25 yards is the R35.  If K kicked from the K35, 25 yards equals the R40.
2. K may recover a scrimmage kick after it was touched by R (6-2-4), but they cannot advance unless recovered behind the neutral zone (6-2-3).
3. In a scrimmage kick formation, the holder may rise and return to his knee to hold for a kicker (4-2-2-2) so the ball is still live.  The kick crossed the goal line and is no good, so there is a touchback.  The dead ball foul on B is enforced from the basic spot –which is the 20 yd line after a touchback, so they get the ball at the 10 after half the distance penalty.
4. The dead ball foul occurs after the 4th down play is over.  A did not make the line to gain, so it will be B’s ball after enforcement of the 15 yard penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct.  Don’t forget to document the time of the foul in case there is a second one later in the game.
5. This was a poor question and was thrown out from official scoring of the test.  In my opinion, there are no fouls, only lousy officiating, but you could have a delay of game on the return man and you could have a late hit on A.  The lesson here is to blow the play dead as soon as the catch is made.  You could have many arguments about this question.  
6. DPI no longer includes an automatic first down, it is just 15 yards from the previous spot. Replay the down after enforcement.
7. [bookmark: _GoBack]This was another poorly worded question.  How did A hand off beyond the LOS and then retreat behind the LOS?  Was it forward handing?  A test question should be better than that.  However, the bottom line is that it does not say there was forward handing, so you have to conclude there wasn’t.  Therefore, all you are left with is illegal kicking on A, but B will surely decline the penalty and take the ball where it went out of bounds.
8. Holding is a 10 yard penalty.  All but one enforcement has the foul enforced from the spot of the foul (18 yd line) but it is only enforced as half the distance, therefore the 9 yd line. Replay 2nd down.  The clock only stopped for the penalty, so it will start on the ready for play.
9. Another 4th down play where A did not make the line to gain so it will be B’s ball after enforcement of the dead ball fouls.  New in 2015, you cancel equal numbers of 15-yard dead ball fouls.  Since B had two fouls and A had one, only one foul against B is enforced.
10. This is not a catch since A did not get a foot down in bounds.  The only exception is if B “carries” A out of bounds and this question does not say that.

